Are all bandsaws this finicky?

Sprayman

Greetings:

I got a new bandsaw a few weeks ago and have had nothing but problems with it. I have a lot of experience with a lot of power tools, but this is my first bandsaw. I figured I'd try it for a while to see if the problems are with me, or with the saw. I still am not sure.

I cannot get it to cut in a straight line, no matter what I do. I've tightened the blade as much as I can, but whenever I try to cut with it, the blade immediately twists to the right, and ruins the cut. This happens with soft wood and hard wood.

I cannot get it to cut metal, even with a metal-cutting blade. I was hoping to use it to cut out my blanks. I held a piece of 1095 to it, and it hardly made a scratch.

Do you all have any ideas? It's gotten to the point where I can only use it as is a scroll saw. Otherwise, it's useless to me.

Thanks

I assume it is a metal cutting bandsaw? If not you will do nothing but ruin blades trying to cut metal at wood bandsaw speeds. Make sure the blade is fully engaged between and against the rollers otherwise it can wander a bit.

I have a small (14") Jet vertical metal/wood bandsaw that has a secondary gearbox to gear it up or down. Free hand it can be a bit hard to control but I usually cut outside the lines and grind to the line. It is pretty accurate when cutting with the sliding miter gauge.

Also I have a horizontal metal cutting band saw which is great for cutting straight line stuff.

Good luck with it!