Botched sheath

theWeatherman

So tried to make a sheath for the first time. I messed up good. I tried the weaved basket pattern and you can only see the edges no inside pattern. It seems deep for a second and then fades away.

I dont' even want to get into how the sheath pattern didn't' even fit the knife.

IMG_0402.jpg

Is that a craftool 501 stamp?
I'm new to stamping and could not make that stamp look good, maybe it's just me.

The fading is as said above, too wet.

Any recommendations for an intermediate basket weave stamp?

Thanks Mark

Belly leather??? That is nearly always a problem with stamping or carving. Very hard to get soft belly leather to case (Wet) evenly. it will nearly always stretch in odd direction when stamped with geometric pattern tools. Basket weave seems easy but it is one of the most demanding tools in your rack. There is a section on basket weave stamping in the new third DVD mentioned below.

Paul

Attachments

• 100_2465.jpg
    100_2465.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 46
Belly leather??? That is nearly always a problem with stamping or carving. Very hard to get soft belly leather to case (Wet) evenly. it will nearly always stretch in odd direction when stamped with geometric pattern tools. Basket weave seems easy but it is one of the most demanding tools in your rack. There is a section on basket weave stamping in the new third DVD mentioned below.

Paul

I went to Tandy and I asked for some 6-7oz leather for sheaths and that is what they directed me to. Paul, do you have any suggestions that I could get at Tandy?