Bring your Ideas

Anthony Chaney

How bout we bounce some ideas off each other? Maybe you have a simple tip to share. One thing I've noticed on some threads lately is people boring holes in the tang. I assume for weight reduction. I could be mistaken, but wouldn't tapering the tang be a much better solution. For one, i think it would make for a stronger knife, better looking, better balance too. Weigh in, I'm I right or wrong? Also share some things you have noticed that could be accomplished a little differently.

I'm just a newbie learning the trade so I don't do tapered tangs yet (I appreciate the work that goes in to tapered tangs but not a big fan of the look).

I put the multiple holes in the tang to lighten the knife and shift the balance to where I want it. It also provides a better bond allowing the epoxy to go through more places.

As far as strength goes, never seen a problem with it if it's done correctly.

Charlie

Hi Charlie, that's what I'm looking for. Someone sharing their ideas and thought processes. You brought some info to the table that I didn't consider. The part about the holes helping the epoxy to hold better. Keep the ideas coming folks!

Hi Anthony!

Those holes you mentioned are for weight reduction, which aids the overall balance of the knife. The other benefit to holes is when your gluing on handle slabs....the holes create an epoxy rivet effect. On certain knives, with certain handle materials, I will often mill a dovetail slot in the back side of the handle material to further enhance the "riveting" effect.