First japanese tanto WIP

cbr900son

Well decided to do a traditional japanese style tanto. This one will be a Aikuchi Hira-Zukuri. Now im new to the terms but I think that is correct. If I mess up on some of the termanology feel free to correct me. I know this project will be a longer one then my usual knives so decided to make a wooden template.

tanto1.jpg

This helped me check where I wanted the habaki and determine the length I wanted. This will be a bit longer then most tantos at 10"

photo.jpg

Blank cut out and and ready to go

IMG_0284.jpg

Mune shape done. Was nervous since it was so small and had to do some testing on paint stirrers to get the look I wanted.

IMG_0285.jpg

I think its real close to around 20 degrees bevels

IMG_0286.jpg

Starting to grind. This blade has a slight convex shape to it from what I understand.

IMG_0288.jpg

Tapering toward the tip as I grind

IMG_0287.jpg

Time to sand and I want this as close to perfect as I can get so I busted these out

IMG_0291.jpg

Almost perfect 120 grit now to 180 or 220!

IMG_0292.jpg

Sooo much sanding to do lol

IMG_0295.jpg

I work this week but will post pics as I go. I just hope I dont mess anythign up. Did a decent amount of research before starting but there was way more to it then i ever thought.

hey - that looks nice.
I hope you don't mind a helpful hint - I would either put the blade on a board longer than the actual knife so the point doesn't stick out or turn the vise parallel to the workbench. You can impale yourself on the setup you have. Seriously, on trip and you will commit sepukku.

I am impressed with the accuracy of the filing on the mune, by the way.
kevin

hey - that looks nice.
I hope you don't mind a helpful hint - I would either put the blade on a board longer than the actual knife so the point doesn't stick out or turn the vise parallel to the workbench. You can impale yourself on the setup you have. Seriously, on trip and you will commit sepukku.