Improv?

IanBryant

Maybe it's because I'm new to knifemaking but I find myself needing stuff I don't have quite a lot. I am also not a rich man by any stretch of the imagination so I generally improvise or modify what I have. Does anyone else do this? Is there anything you improvised years ago that you still use?

For example, I only have a 1x42 belt grinder and I can't really access the drive wheel and the idler pulley is somewhere in the 3.5 inch diameter neighborhood so if I want to grind a radius smaller than that (and boy do I) I have to do it on my drill press with a drum in the chuck or a "flap mandrel" I made that I wrap sandpaper around. It takes longer but it works.

Absolutely, nothing wrong with that. The people here just try to teach the best methods to get the best results, but that's not to say that there isn't 6 different ways to get the same job done. Nothing wrong with improvising, we all do it all of the time. It probably opens up your mind to logical ideas that may lead to a revelation of some sorts, lol!

Wayne

From my viewpoint, knifemaking is all about constantly solving problems.... in general there are tools we need that are not commercially made, so you either improvise something you have, or build your own. There are not many things in my shop that haven't been modified to some degree. Sometimes its simply to suit my tastes, and sometimes it necessary to make them function in the manner I need.

A few of the major modifications....
-Redesigned/built the tooling arms for my grinders
- Designed/built grinder platens
-Modified my surface grinder to use 2 x72" belts
-Turned a drill press into a tapping machine
-Built my own kydex press
-Made my own handle broaches (for hidden tangs)
-Just changed my KMG grinder from belt drive to direct drive