New to this

seider

I am very new to knife making well I have never tryed it at all. I see alot of posts were someone is posting links to get supplies and tools what I am wondering is what are the basic tools needed for this trade.. I have a buffing wheel on a bench grinder now (could use a better grinder) and a few files. I am looking at getting a vertical belt sander so that I can start rough and work my way down to a finer grit. Is that the right way to attack this.. I am more interested in making fixed blade knifes.. I would love to make a set of kitchen knifes with mesquite handles. Any help is greatfull..

I'd look at the WIP subforum. There's a tutorial on how to make a knife with basic tools, hand power drill, files, etc. But, if you want to invest some money, you'll need a drill press, belt grinder, and a lot of sandpaper.

I have a drill press and a buffer already the only thing I would need is a belt sander and I think I could build one I don't like to buy stuff I can build myself gives me alittle pride to say I built it

You'll find there are a number of options to build your own grinder. Midwest knifemakers supply sells plans and parts for a no weld grinder. I chose Polar Bear Forge's GIB (grinder in a box) frame kit, 1/2" plate cut to shape with most holes. I'm happy with it and building it was satisfying. Or if you're really handy there are a number of plans and CAD files available.

Jay

I am still a young pup but I have had the pleasure of working with a few older guys that have learned through the school of hard knocks. I am always like a sponge I try and learn as much as I can from them I love to learn new things you can never stop learning.. Gonna go find me a good used grinder 1/2hp min and will rig me up a 4" belt sander on one side and a 8" vertical sanders not sure if that is what it would be called another sander on the end... Will see what I come up with.. Nothing is better than making it yourself..