Question on o-1 blade

arrow-360

I heat treated 4 blades, to rockwell of 59. I am mirror finishing one, that took a nice mirror finish. But... In the right light, and angle it seems to be covered with little pits. Can these be taken out, or do I just have to live with them? Is it just o-1 or is it just me? I started wet sanding with 220 and went through the grits all the way to 2000 and than buffed, no scratches can be seen. I am quite new to knife making, and didn't notice it on my first blade because I left it a satin finish. Would be greatfull for any advice.
Dave

Last edited:
If I can remember correctly it can occur when there is too much heat used when heat treating, but I'm sure there aree other causes as well.

Thanks!!!

OK, Thanks for the replys!
The pits are very very small. Looks more like cloudyness, to naked eye. Using a magnifying glass reveals pits. Looking straight into it looks like a mirror. As far as being to hot during heat treat.. They were heat treated at work, whith an oven that was just calabated. Treated at 1475 and tempered twice at 450. Should have been very accurate. I could just start to see them at 2000 grit. I will try going through the grits again in a small area, and see if it improves or maybe even goes away. We rockwell tested them, and they came out exactley as I wanted, at 59. Will post the results this weekend when I have a chance. Thanks again!
Dave

Last edited:
Results!!!

Found a few minutes, and worked through some grits starting at 360 and ended with a quick buff.... Nearly all pits are gone!:D I think if I do a good job through all the grits, it will be fine. I was real afraid that my heat treat went wrong, but everything will turn out great.
Thanks to all!
Dave

Last edited:
Two questions Dave,

What temperature was your quench oil when you quenched. And How long did you hold the temp?

Too low or high a quench oil temp can affect grain growth.