Some new blades

gearhartironwerks

These are new within the past several weeks. I work as a full time blacksmith/fabricator making furniture, lighting, firescreens etc. so don't get as much
time to spend making blades as I'd like. I've never taken a class, so what you see is from the school of hard knocks/wasted material...and having a lot of fun. Thanks for looking.
John

Attachments

• feather chef-w.jpg
    feather chef-w.jpg
    19.4 KB · Views: 82
  • feather chef-2-w.jpg
    feather chef-2-w.jpg
    99.2 KB · Views: 90
  • snatoku-chef 'w' pattern-w.jpg
    snatoku-chef 'w' pattern-w.jpg
    42 KB · Views: 89
John,
Nice work! As a another maker that loves to do the culinary & kitchen thing, I really like those, especially the first one with the multi-wood handle. I never took any classes ether!

Laurence

www.rhinoknives.com

That is my goal i am just getting in to this but my goal is to have a complete set of kitchen knifes that I made along with a few for hunting.. Very Very nice set I am going to have to stay off here it is making me want to get at it just have any idea what to do yet..

where to start

That is my goal i am just getting in to this but my goal is to have a complete set of kitchen knifes that I made along with a few for hunting.. Very Very nice set I am going to have to stay off here it is making me want to get at it just have any idea what to do yet..

Seider,
I'm not a chef..scrambled eggs? Anyhow, I've been giving local chefs some blades to work with for feedback. The most common comment is to make them thinner. I thought they were thin, but apparently not enough, so I'm working on that. Imho, there's no better feedback than from those who use them for tools as we do our blacksmithing tools. I never expect a blade back as I just want the chefs to use/abuse them. I do want to see them and if possible, I may be able to regrind them. The object is to learn.
John

John,