Spurs?

Vombrown

Dealer - Purveyor
I've been giving thought to making a few sets of spurs recently. Just as a time waster/side project... have any of you guys forged or made any? My background is more machinist than blacksmith but I'm getting a little better everyday. My initial thought was Damascus. I mean, why wouldn't you? I think I might start small with this and make some cable Damascus billets to make a test pair of spurs. Seems straight forward and easy enough I guess, especially without a terrible amount of embellishment. If you guys have made any post up some pictures, I'd like to see them!

bladegrinder

I have seen Damascus spurs before, somewhere on the internet and they looked awesome, looking forward to seeing yours if you get around to making them.

John Wilson

I wish I lived where I could wear chaps and spurs. Then again I’d just look like the fat no-talent who got kicked out of The Village People.

John Wilson

I know. I’m just joking. I have huge respect for the ranchers and cowboys that keep meat on the shelves for the rest of us.

Vombrown

Dealer - Purveyor
got a few specialty parts ordered today to make a set of spurs.... I'll get out and forge a simple set to start with and just see how it goes. I also might try to make a pair from an old rasp...that seems to be a thing.
I did make a rowel from 1084 today. 2" in diameter with a hole through it. Came out well....then I heat treated it and ground it sharp. I essentially made a throwing star without meaning to...

Last edited: