Tips and tricks for Welding a handle on a Damascus billet....HELP!!!

McClellan Made Blades

Hey Dawgs, a quick question,
I've been attempting to make Damascus, I've read everything I could find, watched video's, etc, etc. I was working this weekend on my first billet, I had welded a handle on it and I think it was either the 2nd or 3rd heat, it came off. I weld it back on and the same thing happened, keep in mind I'm not a welder, I do well enough to keep the 2 pieces of steel I want together stuck. Thats about it, I'm sure there is something more to this that I just don't know. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated, Thanks Dawgs!!!! Rex

Welcome to the club. I have the same problem. Giving me welding equipment to use is like giving an chimpanzee a straight razor to play with. I'm flat dangerous with the stuff. I'd like to read any responses you get on your post.

I'm a good welder and have been offered great welding jobs but I still don't weld handles onto my billets.

I start with a stack of 9 layers of 1/4" 1084 and 1/8" 15n20 but I use a full 4 foot bar for the middle bar. I loose an extra $4 in 1084 per billet but to me its worth it to avoid the hassle.

If you want to go the route of using a handle cut your middle bar an extra 1" longer than the rest of the billet, this will give you the option of getting a very good deep weld without penetrating deeply into the actual billet. Plus welding straight onto the billet gives you a giant heat sink which can be hard to overcome if your using a small welder.

Welcome to the club. I have the same problem. Giving me welding equipment to use is like giving an chimpanzee a straight razor to play with. I'm flat dangerous with the stuff. I'd like to read any responses you get on your post.

Hey Tom!