uh oh..Peening problem.

Tod Lowe

I drilled a 7/64 hole in my guard and it was supposed to be 3/32.
I cant find any 7/64 ss pin stock. The guard is not big enough to make the hole 1/8.
Is it possible to peen the pin big enough and not have it show?
This sucks. I spent some time on the guard and hate to scrap it for this.:mad:

It is possible, but not by any means simple.

how much practice do you have with peening pins?

I would be sure to use a peening block and patience

Shankmaker,

I'm no expert but I do peen my pins so I do have a little experience.

I wouldn't see this as a problem at all. Your hole is 1/64 oversize. Thats 1/128 th around the perimeter of the pin.

The expansion you get when upsetting the pin should fill this no problem.

Epoxy or superglue the pin in place. I'd use 2-ton epoxy so you have time to do the peening while the epoxy is not cured.

Upset the pin by hitting it straight on with the flat side of the hammer. You'll want to flip from one side to the other. This should expand the diameter of the pin enough to make it fit your oversized hole.

I'd go lightly at first expanding the pin a little at a time as opposed to giving it a swift heavy handed shot right off the bat.

Once the pin fills the oversized hole it will actually "bulge" out to a larger diameter creating a tiny mushroom of pin on top of your bolster material.

One you have to this point then hit it hard as needed to pull the bolsters tight.

This heavy hitting will flatten the mushroomed tops of the pin. As a final measure switch to the round side of your ball peen and peen the pin material around the perimeter of the HOLE. This is to ensure the pin fills the hole in the bolster completely and doesn't leave a SHADOW.