which motor for this variable speed inverter (VFD)

SHOKR

i finally purchased a NWG, cost me about 8months salary (here salaries suck!) anyway i didnt buy the motor, but i did get this 2HP IP65, Taian, model: N2-202-M Inverter with Variable Speed.
img1047k (1).jpg

Clip.jpg
will buy the motor locally and i'm REALLY new at this:34:, need help deciding on motor specs, and sooner or later the connectivity :8:

thanks

Last edited:
Hopefully your VFD is dust proof if niot it will need to be put in a proper enclosure. If metal grindings get into the VFD it may short out and ruin it. You will need a 3 phase motor that is TEFC (totally enclosed fan cooled) again the keep the metal grindings out. If the VFD can be set to run at double speed get an inverter rated TEFC 1800 rpm 2 hp motor and set the VFD to 2X. An 1800 rpm motor is a better motor and is designed to cool better at the slower speeds.

i really cant say i'm any less confused if not more!! i guess i need to get at this from another approach

locally motor rpms available are 900, 1400 and 3000, i was going to go for the 3000, or you think the 1400 would be better(incase the VFD can be set to 2x?)

will look into it

thanks Wayne

Maganinooo,

I've got a similar VFD set-up on my grinder and here's what I did -

instead of using the VFD to compensate for using a lower RPM motor I compensated for this with the pulleys I chose.

For example- If using a 3450 RPM motor then motor pulley to driveshaft pulley is a 1 to 1 ratio (or the same size, say 3" and 3" pulleys) to make the driveshaft spin at 3450 RPM

I'm using a 1725 RPM motor so I've got a 3" motor pulley and a 1 1/2" driveshaft pulley which also makes the driveshaft spin at 3450 RPM.

I don't remember the exact size pulleys I actually used but It works out that I'm actually spinning my driveshaft at more like 3600 RPM or just a touch faster than it would be with a 3450 RPM motor and the 1 to 1 ratio.