brass pinned handles

steelerfan88

I know that any mechanical bolting type fastener is stronger but if using 1/4" brass pins and a top quality epoxy like Acra-Glass or West Labs and proper application techniques are followed, what are the chances a handle will fail under use ? I would think that the handle material would fail long before the actual joint would. Have any of you seen a PROPERLY APPLIED PINNED HANDLE fail ? I personally have not. Just wondering for my own studies :)

I've never seen one fail with those conditions, but I'm pretty new at this. I have never even considered an epoxied handle failing when pins are used. For a test, I epoxied wood scales to a folder liner, then sheared wood scales off using a hammer - wood broke and really damaged before epoxy failure. The scales will come off, but the wood was broken up. With pins that are "roughed" up good and epoxied in - nope, don't think you'll ever have a problem.

With that said, I've started using Corby screws rather than pins because they are easy to install and only add $2 or so per knife to the material cost. I'm sure I've read where other makers have indicated they use Corby screws due to failure problems with pins..... I think.

Ken H>

If you will drill holes in the tang, the epoxy will form bridges from one scale to the other, making a very strong bond independent of the metal to scale bond. Even with horn. I most often swiss cheese mine. It takes a torch to get the scales off. A hammer will not break that bond. I've tried with a 3lb hammer and could not. However, the pins punched out easily, but they are more for shear strength than holding down the scales, even though they do help to.