Master Knifemakers Mindset?

Hankins

After years of practice practice practice... Believe it is time to get serious.
On a good day my blades turn out somewhat average and a little disapointing sometimes.
How does one "Push Thru This" to get to the next level and stay there?
Have watched a number of makers over the years make the leap to knifemaking stardom.... How?

I've been making knives for 3 years and probably still haven't broken 100 knives. I am no expert by any means, but I think that grinding has a lot to do with feeling the wheel and the heat. The better I can feel what is going on, the better my grinds turn out. For those reasons, I don't use a work rest, push stick, gloves, or anything that limits my feel or movement. Muscle memory is also imortant so try to grind several knives a time.

Why do some guys do so well? That has to do with design IMHO. Both visual and function.
-John

Though I'm reluctant myself, I believe you have to show your work to as many 'experts' as you can and seek constructive criticism, not attaboys. I'm amazed at the time and effort a 'master' will spend with someone who's honestly looking for the next level.

Craig

I don't think there is any magic formula for making the leap to knifemaker "stardom". I think what's required is a deep commitment to making each knife better than the last one, as well as the foresight to understand that each and every day that you walk into the shop, your going to learn something new. Something that every "knife star" does is to build the type/kind of knives that are in demand within their niche area. And in many ways that niche has defined the knifes that those makers build, and have become known for.