Plate quenching

JRNP

First post! I just got hold of some massive aluminum plates and was wondering if anyone had tried plate quenching. I understand the theory but I am not sure how well it works since edge is not in contact with the plate. Is a plate quench more accurate? Can I expect the same hardness or am I wasting my time? The plate quench seems to be a clean and safe alternative to oil.

I'm no expert but I've been plate quenching for almost a year now, it's an excellent way to quench air hardening steels. Aluminum draws the heat out of the steel very fast (including the portions not in direct contact with the plates) and if done properly keeps the blade very straight. One thing I was concerned about and still have not experimented with is that the tip of a fully ground blade might tweek to one side so I usually either don't pre grind the blade or just do a bare minimum grind in the case of thicker stock.

Keep in mind that plate quenching does not work for oil hardening steels.

Les I place the blades, foil and all, in between 1" aluminum plates, give it a little weight and use the compressor to blow air between plates. So far so good.

BC

Les I place the blades, foil and all, in between 1" aluminum plates, give it a little weight and use the compressor to blow air between plates. So far so good.

BC

I heard about using a blowgun when I first started plate quenching and I do that when I have more than 2 or 3 blades to quench but I found that the plates can handle 2 or 3 easily. I've had to cool the plates in water even when using air if I have a lot blade to do, or several large blades.

I'll be trying this on CPM154 which I understand is a good candidate for a plate quench. This stuff is ridiculously hard to grind when hard so I would like to grind as much as possible before hand. Is the warp extreme or can it be dealt with?