Torch Tempering Questions

remist17

Hello all. Im just starting out making knives for my family. I have made three kit knives and had some good success. I would like to start making my own now. Again I am making these for the family so maybe 2 to 3 knives a year. I do not have the money to get special heat ovens. I have done some reading on torch tempering but would like to learn more about the method. I was hoping someone could point me to some books, videos or post that can explain to a new person like me.

I did do some searches for torch tempering. I found discussions on what torch to use in a brick oven. I hope this makes sense. If anyone can point me to a better method or explain how to set up a simple brick oven I would appreciate the time. Again I’m new and I am sure I am not asking the correct questions.

If you google "one brick knife forge" or "two brick knife forge" you will get all the information that you are looking for, I think.

It is hard to understand what it is that you are asking. I went on the presumption that you wish to set up a one brick or two brick forge with a simple propane bottle. Am I right?

Here is a good reference for forges in general. http://zoellerforge.com/

DeMo

I don't recommend torch tempering because it depends on color judgement which is effected by ambient lighting. Also the time is very short compared with an oven. If you can't have access to the kitchen oven to heat treat, the next best thing is a toaster over. That way you can soak the piece at temperature and get a more thorough heating of the blade.

Doug

Welcome to Knife dogs!!

If your talking about hardening the blade. a brick forge will work paired with some Canola oil to quickly cool the steel. hardening it. Then after the blade is hard. I a regular home oven or toaster oven will do the trick to temper it.

Google is a great resource and the key words "one brick knife forge" possibly adding how to make or build may narrow the results more to what you need.