Need photography tutorial

Sean Cochran

Im posting in shop talk, but I wonder if someone could do a "how to take knife pics for dummies" tutorial. Thanks

Sean

we need to recruit a pro... I've already talked to Coop but he is covered up busy...

If we can find a pro photographer to hang their shingle here and give an occasional lesson or answer a question now and then, I'll buy them a forum. I haven't bought any pic's in awhile. If you know of a pro taking knife pic's, let them know about my offer.

I talked to a photographer and his biggest comments was to build a box and keep it as simple as possible. Not to much with the knife. You want people to focus on the knife and not everything else. Keep it uncluttered. The whole idea of pics of your knives is the knives. If we could find a tutorial for a box to take pics in would be nice. Oh and keep the colors simple for back ground. As in make the knife visible but not popping.

I'm no pro, but ocasionally take a good pic. I do have a decent setup, and will take a few pics of my setup and get them up in a day or so.

Thanks guys. Im wanting to start selling more online but Ive been hesitant because I cant get good pics. I have seen several photo tutorials but they all seem to assume the reader has a basic knowledge of photography, which I dont. I need someone to get the crayons out and draw me a picture.:)

Sean

we need to recruit a pro... I've already talked to Coop but he is covered up busy...

If we can find a pro photographer to hang their shingle here and give an occasional lesson or answer a question now and then, I'll buy them a forum. I haven't bought any pic's in awhile. If you know of a pro taking knife pic's, let them know about my offer.

Hey Tracy, I sent you a PM of a possibility.

I haven't made it yet, (mostly because I'm still making my first knife so not a lot to photograph). But anyway here is a little tutorial on how to make a cheap and seemingly fairly decent light box